Alice Neal Clarkson, Kappa/University of Kansas, was our chapter president in 1961 and 1962 and the Theta of the Year in 1969, and established the Kansas City Alumnae Scholarship program after attending Grand Convention in 1962. Alice often spoke of needing financial help in order to finish her education and was her impetus to be able to allow alumnae to help future active members of Theta.

The award is named in honor of Harriet Fowler Brown, who took on the fledging scholarship fund as a favorite project. Harriet was chapter president in 1933 and Theta of the Year in 1964. With the vote of the chapter, the group named the scholarship in her honor. Harriet supported the program for the rest of her life.

Funds for the foundation came from proceeds from the Flaming Festival originally and later other fund raising events. Initially one scholarship was awarded and today three recipients are awarded the scholarship. Thetas attending any of the following colleges are eligible to apply:

* University of Kansas
* Kansas State University
* Washburn University
* University of Missouri
* Westminster College

As educational expenses increase, we are proud to continue providing this assistance to so many deserving Thetas

Page last updated on Friday, August 24, 2012 10:50 AM (11:36:1981)